Skip navigation

Read the Tao Te Ching. It will change your life if you let it and get out of its way. So too with The Power of Now, though don’t let Eckhart Tolle know that–anyone who would change his name to match one of the great Christian mystics (Meister Eckhart), well, I’m jealous he thought of it first, dammit.

John Eckhart. Nice ring. Actually, Meister Eckhart’s first name was Johannes, which comes from the same root as John. So there you go.

I was raised Catholic, and as you’d probably expect grew restless at what I was told was true. So, no more church. I came back into spirituality from science. That is, I was intensely interested in cosmology, quantum physics and quantum mechanics when I was in my early 20s. At the same time, I read a lot on quantum mechanics. I came across The Tao of Physics, as well as Nada Brahma – The World Is Sound. These books put the bug in my head that all truly isn’t as it seems. And, to quote Peter O’Toole in the marvelous movie Creator, “We can never know anything.” Science, philosophy and religion were merging again–finally!–in the form of quantum physics and taoism.

Now I should point out that the taoism I speak of bears almost no resemblance to the religion practiced by the Chinese until Mao came into power. That Taoism was an agglomeration of Confucianism, Lao Tzu’s Taoism, a little Buddhism and ancient traditions that resisted extinction. The Tao Te Ching is a small book and describes a very natural state of being. One where harmony and balance are important, and things like “good” and “evil” are not so important. You cannot have evil without good, and vice versa.

I’m glossing over a lot of fine points. Cut to fifteen years later. I am in a completely different space in my life. Older, divorced, burned out. Through a series of events I will go into at some future date, I ended up in a hospital trying to fix the mess that was my life. At that time, I dove head-first into a search for, for lack of a better term, God.

Unfortunately, that word has picked up a lot of unnecessary and disruptive connotations based on the Judaeo-Christian view of God as a person. I say that because I’ve found that that description, in short, is not God.

Y’know what sealed the deal for me, and in the process opened me up to a whole new way of thinking? Yep. The Tao Te Ching. I was sitting in my parked car one afternoon looking at the first chapter of the Tao Te Ching. “The Tao that can be described is not the Eternal Tao.” Then, it hit me. If you replaced the word “Tao” with “God,” you have an ideal way to describe the infinite nature of God.

Wow.

It just made sense. It allowed so many things I’d observed and found to ring true to coalesce into a new way of thinking.

If God sits at the pinnacle of creation, with nothing greater than He, is He, then, infinite? I would say yes, if only because if He isn’t, He isn’t God. He’s just some fruitcake like the demiurge the gnostics describe. If God, then, is infinite, then where within that infinity would little Johnny Grow stand?

I will let that sink in. Suffice to say, it just makes sense. Some of it isn’t nice or comfortable, but what is the corpse that needs God to be nice or comfortable?

Leave a Reply

