Skip navigation

My grandmother died yesterday. It was a long time coming, she lived a long life, and I am shockingly fortunate to have had a grandparent alive well into my forties.

She was very Catholic. I am not. To say the least. If you know me, you know some of my journey. You may have read some of it here. 

She is gone and I loved her very much. I always will. The following happened yesterday.  

I also love you too very much.

 

I am really not big
On mystic messages’
Made-up mystique.
Reading a sentence
Into random happenstance.

But this happened.

Two black butterflies
Danced before me
As I walked outside
Yesterday.
Right after you died.

This is not
Especially common.
Nor is my memory
Infallible.

These are both true.

But were you
Leaving me
Something
As you left?

Or am I wishing
For the goodbye I’m missing?
Desperately seeking
Farewell with meaning.

Leave a Reply

